First post in ages

I haven’t posted in forever it seems like. I doubt anyone bothers to check this blog anymore. I’ve had things I wanted to write but just have been busy in addition to having a shit month or two. Between my grandmother dying, another bad breakup, and having to work my ass off to get this house on the market so I can move back closer to civilization, I’ve been stressed and overwhelmed. Add to that getting some not so great results on some medical tests a couple weeks back and my life has been pretty much shit lately.

Anyway, as far as what’s been going on with me, like I said I’ve just been stressed and sad and a bit out of it lately. I’m only taking one class this semester, an online one at that, because I’ve got to get this house listed and sold so I can move onto another phase of my life. It’s beautiful up here and most people would probably kill to live on a river but I just feel way too isolated. I don’t want to move all the way back down into Atlanta because I can’t deal with the traffic and don’t really fit in there anymore, but I’d like to restaurants to eat at, places to shop, and to not have to drive 20 mins to get to a decent grocery store.

I’m also sick of being a hermit. I know noone up here that I care to see and while I’m someone that isn’t that affected by loneliness, I feel like the world is passing me by. I’m already making some changes in my life and moving out of here will be one of the bigger ones. I’m finally starting to eat healthy and starting to exercise again. I’ve basically quit drinking again, partly for health reasons and partly because I don’t want to get back to where I was in the bad old days. I might have a beer or two here and there but I haven’t had more than two or three beers in a night in a month or two.

So I guess with all the negativity in my life I’m at least making some changes for the positive. Plus it’s football season again so that always cheers me up, even if my Dawgs might not have a great year this year. I’ve got company coming this weekend and I’m excited about that. It’s been ages since I’ve not been alone up here. I’ve just been working on this house, reading a lot, and watching a lot of movies. I want to have a life again. I’d like to be able to see the few friends I still have left more than a couple of times a year.

I’m taking some time off from relationships for a bit. If I happened to meet the right woman that could change, but I don’t have the patience or willpower to do the online dating thing again right now and I’m sure as hell not gonna meet the love of my life around these parts. I need to get my shit together as far as losing weight and getting into better shape healthwise before I’d want to dip my toe in that pool again anyhow. Not to mention after this semester I need to focus on school so I can finally not be the resident fuckup of my circle of friends anymore.

Well, that’s about all I can really think of to write tonight. It’s already late and I should be asleep; gotta love insomnia. If anyone actually reads this, thanks and I’ll try to actually post something interesting in the near future that doesn’t have to do with me. I’ve read a ton of books lately so maybe I’ll do a book recommendation thing again. Peace.

Leave a Reply

