Monday Ramblings

Sorry for not posting anything new over the last couple of days. I was just in a lazy as hell mood yesterday and today I was busy between work and this project I’m having to do for school.

I know everyone that reads this blog has had enough of sports after my weekend of only posting about Georgia playing a cupcake game, but I’m pretty excited about the Falcons playing the Peyton Manning led Broncos on Monday Night football tonight in the dome. Go Birds baby!!

I didn’t write much over the weekend because I basically didn’t do anything at all. Watched football all day Saturday, found a way to stream said UGA game to my big screen Sat. night and was able to DVR a nice boxing slate on Showtime while I was watching that. As I’ve mentioned in the past, I’m one of the few remaining boxing fans in this country so I got to enjoy the fights after the game. A few pretty good fights.

The main event featured Canelo Alvarez, a Mexican kid who has red hair and looks like he should be in a boy band rather than a boxing ring. From what I gather he’s pretty huge in Mexico and makes the headlines by dating news girls or tv stars or something. He’s definitely a far cry from your normal gritty Mexican fighter and I’m not sure how good he is, but he dominated the guy he was up against in his first big fight on American tv, so I’m sure we’ll be seeing more of him in the future.

So now that I’ve driven off everyone by talking about football and boxing, I wanted to mention something interesting that happened to me on Friday. I randomly talked to an old friend/ex girlfriend of mine. It was really nice talking to her and reminded me that not every woman I’ve dated now hates me or vice versa, and that I have had at least one relationship that I didn’t screw up. Her and I dated off and on a few years ago and we just had literally the worst timing and bad luck. We were in the process of possibly getting back together when she had something horrible happen in her life and our relationship just kind of went by the wayside.

She’s now in a serious relationship and I’m happy for her; I don’t want this to come off as some unrequited love story. It was just really nice to talk to her and think about some old times. She is one of the women in my life that I tend to forget about that actually was a positive influence on me. She always made me feel wanted, loved, desired, special…whatever you want to say, and I didn’t do my usual insecurity laden screw up job with her.

So what I’m trying to say is that remembering our relationship gives me hope that if I find the right woman, there might be hope for me yet. Things with her didn’t work out because of bad luck and timing and life just not always working out, not because I massively screwed something up, which is what I usually assume when things don’t work out.

Well, I’m off to find some dinner now. I’ll try to write some more tonight since my output has been low as hell lately. Thanks to those of you that still read me, I really do appreciate it, and I’ll try to give you some actually interesting content to read soon.

2 thoughts on “Monday Ramblings

Leave a Reply

