Happy Monday Ramblings

Well, after a weekend of me doing nothing but watching football and laying around, and a busy day of work/school, it’s time for me to get back to writing the golden content that you’ve come to expect. I do apologize to anyone that hates or is indifferent towards football, but my weekends are mostly consumed by it during the season. The stuff I wrote Saturday night was probably a bit weak since I was involved in the game and drinking a few beers: though I’ll stand by my dissertations on why I love college football and why I love sports that I wrote earlier in the day.

Now that I’m huge in Australia, it’s time for me to start getting into the hard hitting subjects, such as what I’m going to have for dinner, which book I’m going to read next, and the other hotbutton issues of the day.

Quick rant: everyone already knows about my feelings on and ambivalence towards Facebook, but during political season it’s becoming quickly insufferable. I don’t EVER want to talk about politics on this blog because I find them depressing at best, and infuriating at worst. I don’t subscribe to any party because I’m smart enough to make up my own mind on issues; I don’t need to follow a pre-formed platform of views. I’m probably conservative on some things and liberal about others, so I can’t belong to either party because I don’t agree with either in a wholesale manner.

I’m also incredibly cynical about politics, particurally in America. I think presidential candidates are two sides of the same coin: they both take massive amounts of money from people that they are then beholden to, they both say they’ll do things that they won’t, and nothing ever really changes.

So anyway, back to Facebook: I don’t care which candidate you pull for. I don’t want to hear about it, don’t want to see links to such and such’s campaign or be prompted to like so and so. I just don’t care. I only keep Facebook to keep up with my friends’ lives that I’m not in regular contact with. Luckily I don’t have THAT many people on my Facebook so it’s not that common an occurence, but if I could ignore all politics until this election is done, I’d be fine with that. Sorry, /end rant.

It’s kinda funny to me that as a kid, the fall sucked because that’s when you had to go back to school, but now it’s my favorite time of the year. Obviously it’s beautiful up here when the leaves change, and I enjoy cooler temps over hot ones. But now it’s the start of the football season, when new shows come out and old ones come back; can’t wait for Homeland to come back later this month. There’s also a number of books coming out in the next month or two that I’m really looking forward to: particularly Justin Cronin’s followup to “The Passage” which I have previously mentioned was one of my favorite books of the last couple of years.

So it still feels like summer up here mostly, but I’m ready for the fall. Anyhow, enough ramblings for now. I need to find some dinner but will post more later. Thanks for reading and hope everyone has a great night.

Leave a Reply

