Weekend thoughts

Well, at around 6 I finally got my lazy ass off the couch, went and got some food, and started a load of laundry. That’s really about all I accomplished this entire weekend and I’m cool with that. There’s something to be said for a weekend of doing nothing. I just ate good food, drank some good beer, and watched a lot of good football. My Dawgs won last night and my Falcons won today, with the added bonus that the New Orleans Saints, who have some of the most annoying fans on earth…lost.

So life is good even if I spent more time lying/sitting on a couch for the last 72 hours than anywhere else. The only negative is that I was too lazy to cook tonight so I drove to Zaxby’s to get food. There’s nothing wrong with Zaxby’s…if you don’t have it in your area it’s a chicken finger fast food place basically. As far as fast food goes it’s on the higher end, but it’s still greasy fast food…and I always seem to forget that while I might enjoy eating it, unless it’s 2am and I’m drunk, I’m going to feel shitty afterwards.

I don’t know if it’s a mental or physical thing for me. I would assume mental because I don’t think the large amounts of fats and transfats and who knows what else I just ate have already found their way into my bloodstream. I think it’s more the thought that I just ate a bunch of stuff that’s horrible for me that makes me feel like crap. Eating fast food just makes me feel lethargic these days.

It’s not like I’m eating a diet of egg whites, fish, and kale at home. I eat a fair amount of red meat, not enough vegetables though I try, and late at night I might cook some pretty unhealthy crap, but outside of the most processed foods, anything you cook at home is probably 10 times better for you than anything from a fast food place.

Anyway, enough whining about that. I’m trying to figure out what I should do with the rest of my night. I should do some schoolwork but why spoil my full weekend of indolence by doing something constructive?

I’m like three episodes behind on Breaking Bad now and I think I forgot to DVR one of them so I’ll probably have to buy it on itunes or something. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but I’m probably one of the few people under 40 that actually buys stuff instead of looking for it on torrents or whatnot.

I used to use limewire and such to get free music but got sick of having to find a new program every few months when the last one got shut down, and taking the chance of getting malware on my computer, and because I figured I was just unlucky enough to be one of the 5 people out of millions that the recording industry used to take to court to make an example of every so often.

So it’s not for any real moral reasons but I buy all of the media I consume: partially out of laziness and partially out of it probably being the right thing to do. If I had anything worth selling I’d probably be pissed if people were stealing it.

I just wish that the media companies would wise the fuck up and not make it so difficult to get their product if you’re willing to pay for it. That’s why I love HBO, with the HBOgo thing you can watch any of their current movies and every single episode of every show they’ve ever made streaming whenever you want as long as you subscribe to HBO.

Some other companies, like Showtime for instance, make it next to impossible to watch their shows if you don’t DVR or catch them being broadcast, even if you’re willing to buy them. And I pay for Showtime. AMC is a bit in between in that you can’t watch missed episodes on their website but you can buy them on itunes…which is annoying but at least an option.

I just find it annoying how so many companies refuse to realize that their old model of doing things doesn’t work anymore. And with the big cable companies trying to get into the content war I’m sure it’s only gonna get more complicated and worse as it goes.

Anyway, enough rambling for now. Hope everyone has had a great weekend and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

