Post dinner ramblings

Well, after my food manifesto of earlier I had a nice dinner of grilled chicken tenderloins(organic of course :P) with a mustard bbq sauce, some saffron yellow rice, and a nice spinach/spring mix salad. I’m trying to eat a bit healthier these days in terms of fat intake so less red meat unfortunately, although I’m pretty sure this weekend that will go out the window when I’m watching football.

Somehow after my house being spotless last weekend, it’s already in need of cleaning again, and I need to wash just about every piece of clothing I have..ugh. I don’t really mind doing laundry per se, I just hate folding it. Sadly I’m one of those single men that often hunts through the dryer to pick out what he’s going to wear that day. It’s actually kinda funny because I’m really a pretty domesticated guy for being single. Having a single mom that works when you’re growing up tends to do that for ya. I’ve been doing my own laundry for years and years, learned to cook at a pretty young age, can even iron a shirt in a pinch. You’d think I’d be a catch for some lucky woman..lol.

I’m a bit over halfway through “The Kitchen House” and I’m actually enjoying it. It’s a tad bit romancey for my liking but it has a lot of really interesting portrayals of life on a Virginia plantation in the late 1700’s.

I’ve been listening to The Hold Steady pretty much all afternoon and I honestly think they are the best rock band of the last 10 years. You might not agree with me and think that’s sacrilege, but I don’t think anyone in the rock genre can tell a story like Craig Finn. I’ve been listening to them since Separation Sunday in ’05, which was almost a rock opera of an album: introducing and following characters through the seedy underbelly of life. Since then they’ve gone a bit more conventional album route, but they still tell great stories. From the lapsed Catholic Holly(short for Hallelujah), to all the drunks and hookers and addicts of the streets, to poet John Berryman talking to the devil before he jumps off a bridge, to the poor boyfriend and his painkiller addicted girl that can always pick the winning horse at the track…just so many great characters, lyrics, and of course great rock music. I might post a few more of my favorite songs of theirs, but if you haven’t heard them before, check out the Weekenders vid in my music section.

Well, I need to go get some laundry started. I’ll try to write some more later..I seem to get the most views when I post at night so people can have something to read the next day. And before I go, I don’t usually shamelessly plug stuff on here, but a friend of mine who wishes to remain anonymous but has given me a lot of support on this blog has started a blog that some of you might find interesting. As you can tell from the name, it’s adult oriented so click at your own risk, but she’s a good writer and it’s definitely a titillating subject, even more so since it’s true: http://swingwithusmaybe.wordpress.com/

Anyway, like I said, off to laundry and I’ll try to write some more later…and I promise no more plugs.

 

Leave a Reply

