Back to the grind

I should be doing a bit of school work right now or a bit more work work, but I’m really in a lazy sort of mood today; probably doesn’t help that it’s cloudy here for what seems like the 7th day in a row, I need a full day of sunshine damn it! If I have to read and analyze poetry it could at least be outside sitting in the sun listening to the river.

So I’ve really been trying to peruse the usual music sites and looking on youtube to find some new music to put up. Last week I had said I wasn’t going to be posting such old stuff and was going to try to get back into discovering new stuff. So far, I’ve been a bit disappointed. Hopefully it’s not because I’m just too old, but everything seems too electronica-y, or hip hop-y, or pop-y.

When it comes to music, I listen to a lot of different genres: from folk, to rock, to country, to even a bit of rap though I feel stupid doing it: I’m a closet Lil Wayne fan. When it comes down to it, what I really like is really well done rock/pop, and by pop I don’t mean Bieber, I’m talking like The Shins.

I’m also a bit like the stereotypical white guy in that Chappelle show clip where he says that the difference in music for white and black people is that black people respond to beats/drums, while white people respond to guitars. I love a song with a fat guitar hook…good lyrics are also a plus. I guess that’s why I like the Hold Steady, Modest Mouse, Okkervil River..etc so much. I like well done rock music, and there doesn’t seem to be as much of it around lately, or maybe I’m looking in the wrong places for it.

But anyhow, I’ll keep looking.

Leave a Reply

