MIssion Statement

So I’ll probably be doing a bit less writing during the day today because I have some work I need to do before class tonight: don’t get me started on going back to school at age 35…another day, another post.

But there is something that has been on my mind that I wanted to tackle. As many of you know, this is my first attempt at a blog or anything like it, and while WordPress has been mostly great and fun to use, they also have lots of little helpful articles with tips on how to grow your audience and such.

I happened to read one of these last night and it struck me in several ways: First off, I’m not sure I’m trying to grow an audience here…I don’t expect some publishing house or hollywood bigwig to come across my blog and offer me a million dollar contract..though it would be nice..lol.

Now I’d certainly love to have more people check out this blog, and read my stuff, maybe hear some tunes they haven’t heard before, maybe relate to some of the bullshit I write about…but I’m going to try not to be one of those guys that practically begs you to go to their blogs, websites, etc. If people come across it and like it, awesome..if I get some more readers from word of mouth through friends and such…cool.

So that brings me to the second part of this article on how to grow your readership: to Focus. To pick one thing you’re good at or know a lot about and focus on that. So if you like cats, write about cats and other people that like cats will come to your blog.

Focus on one thing you know about: well, I know a hell of a lot about books and history, a fair amount about music and sports, and a bit about cooking…but I’m pretty sure there’s already quite a few great blogs focused on those subjects. The one thing I really know about is me, and the one thing I’m trying to do on this blog is be myself.

I don’t even know how this focus thing would work: say I’m a big fan of shaving strange symbols into the back hair of cats…I’m sure I could find some other devotees of that rather odd hobby and get some nice views(literally and electronically I’m sure), but how much can you really talk about cat hair shaving patterns before it gets old?

Or to put it another way, I love sports..I go to ESPN.com every day..but if all they wrote about was baseball and the same two teams(some might argue they do that already but that’s another story), how long would I keep coming back? I like variety, and I’d like to think that I’m not the only one.

I’m sure some people that will read this blog will like some stories more than others. While I think the story I wrote on boxing is some of the best writing I’ve done in awhile, not in punctuation, grammar or structure of course, but in the way I feel like I got across my true feelings on a subject. But many may have skipped that one right over because they hate boxing, and that’s cool. I’m not trying to please everyone all the time.

I’m just a schlub from North GA that likes to write and get ideas out in words, and I sure as hell don’t have the same thoughts all the time, so while a bit of focus could be a good thing in terms of my actual writing, when it comes to subject matter, I find it boring…so I’m going to continue to write what I want when I want, and hope people can like or relate to just a piece of it if nothing else.

Anyway, off to do some homework before class, hope everyone has a great day. I’ll try to write some more this evening. Ohh, and BTW, the whole Mission Statement title wasn’t supposed to be pompous, just a Jerry Maguire reference.

2 thoughts on “MIssion Statement

  1. I read the boxing story and it was pretty amazing. It put me in your head space and let me see what you see when you watch it and you made it beautiful… that’s a pretty powerful thing to be able to do… I am very impressed with the truthfulness that you’re displaying here and also the just over all quality of writing that you’re doing… Way to go Scott =) And also it would only be ok to write a sports blog that focuses on just one sports team, as long as that team is Alabama =P

Leave a Reply

