The End of the World As We Know It

So I wanted to write something about books because I’ve been a reader as long as I can remember…I was reading 1000 page Tom Clancy novels when I was probably 8 or 9. I literally can’t understand how not everyone likes to read…it just doesn’t make sense to me how you could not enjoy being transported to another world, time, place, or life just by opening a book.

I’m a nerd about books: I read anything and everything. I’m a history dork so I’m likely at any given time to be reading something like A Distant Mirror(an old book by Barbara Tuchman about a 14th century French nobleman) or one of Shelby Foote’s epic Civil War tomes and at the same time reading something by a Stephen King or another bestseller type author. I love a lot of non fiction and science type stuff as well…love me some Bill Bryson.

But the one thing I’ve noticed over the years that will pull me in every time is the genre called Postapocalyptic. Ever since I read the extended version of The Stand by Stephen King when I was probably 13, I’ve been a sucker for the stuff. Give me a superflu or ebola that escaped from a government lab and killed 95% of the world population…and I’m in.

An EMP strike that wipes out all the electronics in the world, the scenario in William Forstchen’s book One Second After, I’m hooked.

A meteor strike hitting the earth like in Larry Niven’s surprisingly still good Lucifer’s Hammer, I’m all over it.

Hell, I don’t even really like zombies yet if they are caused by a disease and there are survivors like in 28 days later, I’m STILL in(obviously a movie and not a book but you get the idea).

I pretty much hate vampires since the advent of Twilight and all that crap, yet one of my top five favorite fiction books that I’ve read in the last couple of years, The Passage by Justin Cronin…has vampires in it. I’m not really trying to give a book review here but like I said, it’s a great book. Goverment experimenting on condemned serial killers with some South American vampire like virus to make super soldiers and surprisingly it goes badly..lol. Then a future where small bands of survivors try to stay alive…sounds like every other book in the genre, but very well written IMHO.

Anyway, to finish off this rambling post. I find it amazing that I’m so drawn to this sort of stuff, seeing as how I would probably be one of the first to die if the proverbial shit ever DID hit the fan. I even think dumb shit like how I should buy a gun in case something ever does go wrong and have read some survivalist books but have never actually acted on any of it..lol.

Well, that’s my post on another of my secret addictions…the end of the world as we know it..lol. If there’s any other weirdos out there that like this kinda stuff like me then I highly recommend most of the books I’ve listed, especially the Passage, and feel free to share any recs of your own.

One thought on “The End of the World As We Know It

  1. I think you’re already aware that I’m a super book nerd as well. And that’s always been one of my favorite genres! Give me a post-apocalyptic anything and I’m in!

    I’ve always liked the fact that you’re a fellow book nerd! Those are..well..rare.

Leave a Reply

