Who I am and why I’m doing this

Well, this is my first toe dipped into the blogging world…I’ve always thought personal blogs were for the famous and the self absorbed: I’m guessing you can figure out which of those categories I fall into.

To start out I think I should say a bit about myself and why I wanted to start doing this. One disclaimer first: I’m going to try to be as honest as possible about myself and my life because what’s the point otherwise? But some names may be changed to protect the innocent.

Anyway, with that out of the way, I’m Scott. I’m a 35 year old guy that lives in the North Georgia mountains, alone but for my trusty mini dachshund. Not from here originally…I moved up here from Atlanta a few years back to try something new..with mixed results at best. Never been married, no kids, and have an on again, off again girlfriend…not even sure where that lies at the moment. Have a shitty job that I don’t particularly care for but that doesn’t keep me too busy. So in other words, I’m what some might call a failure at life in general.

By the way, this blog will not be all about how my life sucks…because it doesn’t mostly. I just wanted to be honest about who and what I am before we got into why I’m doing this. And one more quick disclaimer: I honestly have no clue if anyone will ever read any of this shit, but I’m going to pretend that someone will because I’m not really into keeping diaries.

Anyway, onto why a 35 year old guy that no one has ever heard of wanted to start a blog. Ive been on Facebook for awhile and while it’s nice to hear which of my exes or college friends or whomever is getting married/having a kid etc…and while I can appreciate a cute kid pic as much as the next human..Facebook just isn’t doing it for me anymore.

Being unmarried and kid less, I feel increasingly alienated on there. Somedays I feel like I could post that I just found out that I have terminal cancer and it would just get lost in all the cute kid pics.

All that aside, my main reason for trying this is one that I hope others can relate to: I have a lot of things I want to say and no one that really seems to give a shit about hearing them. I want to be able to talk about an awesome song or band I just found, or amazing book I just read, or how much I love Breaking Bad or Game of Thrones, or how amazing that football game just was, and I pretty much feel like no one on Facebook gives a shit. I don’t blame them..they have their own lives..but it still frustrates me.

Those of us of the last few generations all feel like we have something to say and damnit, someone should be interested! I used to look down on that sort of attitude but since I’ve moved to the middle of nowhere and have little contact with my old friends…I’ve realized that I have the attitude too. I doubt my great grandfather farming in east GA ever had this sort of feeling, but it seems endemic today and I’m as guilty as the rest.

So yeah, once I figure the nuts and bolts of WordPress I’ll probably name this blog “The Scott Vanity Project” or “Some Guy You’ve Never Heard of’s Self Absorbed Rantings” but really I just have a need to express myself…even if no one ever reads a word of it.

So this has gone on longer than I expected, so I’ll just tell you, the imaginary reader that may never exist, that this won’t just be me bitching about how my life sucks. Mostly I want to talk about music, movies, books, tv shows, sports, or just whatever the fuck happens to be on my mind when I feel like posting..about the only thing I won’t get into is politics because this is supposed to be cathartic and politics just depress me.

So in closing, thanks for reading this rather conceited and rambling soliloquy of mine and hopefully I can entertain you more in the future.

5 thoughts on “Who I am and why I’m doing this

    • Thanks Wil, I truly appreciate the support. I understand you’re writing short stories…I can never seem to do fiction well and haven’t had much time to read with my going back to school..but I’ll check out your page soon and send anyone i can your way. Peace man.

      • No worries, if you write it and are honest people will come. I’m writing whatever feels right at the moment. Just keep writing, even when you dont want to.

Leave a Reply

